The Oscars 2020: Parasite, the big winner, goes home with 4 statuettes

The Oscars 2020: Parasite, the big winner, goes home with 4 statuettes

Photo: The Jokers / Les Bookmakers

This Sunday, February 9, the Academy Awards celebrated the best of cinema, and in this “little game”, Parasite was the big winner. Bong Joon Ho‘s movie was awarded four times during the ceremony. It won the Oscars for Best Director, Best Original Screenplay and Best International Feature Film, as well as the coveted statuette for Best Picture. This is no small achievement, since it is the first time in 92 editions that a non-English-language film has been awarded in the main Oscar category.

As for the actors and actresses, the Academy did not do anything out of the ordinary and awarded the group of four actors and actresses as the Screen Actors Guild Awards did. Joaquim Phoenix and Renée Zellweger were crowned best actor and best actress for their performances in Joker and Judy. For the supporting roles, Brad Pitt and Laura Dern were awarded for their performances in Once upon a time in… Hollywood and Marriage Story.

1917, which was among the great favorites of the evening, left with only three technical awards: Best Cinematography, Best sound Mixing and Best Visual Effects. These technical categories also allowed Joker to claim an additional statuette: Best Original Score. This award has a special meaning as it rewards the work of Hildur Guðnadóttir, the first woman to win this award as a solo artist. An achievement that she had already accomplished on the occasion of the Golden Globes.

To discover all the other Oscar winners, we invite you to take a look at the list presented here below.

Best motion picture
Ford V Ferrari
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Marriage story
Once upon a time… in Hollywood
Parasite – Winner

Best director
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Todd Phillips – Joker
Sam Mendes – 1917
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywod
Bong Joon Ho – Parasite – Winner

International feature film
Corpus christi – Jan Komasa
Honeyland – Ljubo Stefanov &Tamara Kotevksa
Les Misérables – Ladj Ly
Pain and Glory – Pedro Almodóvar
Parasite – Bong Joon Ho – Winner

Original screenplay
Knives Out – Rian Johnson
Marriage story – Noah Baumbach
1917 – Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino
Parasite – Bong Joon Ho & Han Jin Won – Winner

Adapted screenplay
The Irishman – Steven Zaillian
Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi – Winner
Joker – Todd Phillips & Scott Silver
Little Women – Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes – Anthony McCarten

Best actress
Cynthia Erivo – Harriet
Scarlett Johansson  – Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
Charlize Theron – Bombshell
Renée Zellweger – Judy – Winner

Best actor
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once upon a time… in Hollywood
Adam Driver – Marriage story
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker – Winner
Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes

Best supporting actress
Kathy Bates – Richard Jewell
Laura Dern – Marriage story – Winner
Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh – Little Women
Margot Robbie  – Bombshell

Best supporting actor
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes
Al Pacino – The Irishman
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once upon a time in Hollywood – Winner

Animated feature film
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World – Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis & Bonnie Arnold
I Lost My Body – Jérémy Clapin & Marc du Pontavice
Klaus – Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh & Marisa Román
Missing Link – Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner & Travis Knight
Toy Story 4 – Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen & Jonas Rivera – Winner

Live action short film
Brotherhood – Meryam Joobeur & Maria Gracia Turgeon
Nefta Football Club – Yves Piat & Damien Megherbi
The Neighbors’ Window – Marshall Curry
Saria – Bryan Buckley et Matt Lefebvre
A Sister – Delphine Girard

Animated short film
Dcera (Daughter) – Daria Kashcheeva
Hair Love – Matthew A. Cherry & Karen Rupert Toliver – Winner
Kitbull – Rosana Sullivan & Kathryn Hendrickson
Mémorable – Bruno Collet & Jean-François Le Corre
Sister – Siqi Song

Documentary feature
American Factory – Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert & Jeff Reichert – Winner
The Cave – Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod & Sigrid Dyekjær
The Edge of Democracy – Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris & Tiago Pavan
For Sama – Waad al-Kateab & Edward Watts
Honeyland – Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska & Atanas Georgiev

Documentary short subject
In the absence – Yi Seung-Jun & Gary Byung-Seok Kam
Learning to skateboard in a warzone (If you’re a girl) – Carol Dysinger & Elena Andreicheva – Winner
Life overtakes me – John Haptas & Kristine Samuelson
St. Louis Superman – Smriti Mundhra & Sami Khan
Wlak run Cha-Cha – Laura Nix & Colette Sandstedt

The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
Joker – Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke
1917 – Roger Deakins – Winner
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Robert Richardson

Visual effects
Avengers : Endgame – Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken & Dan Sudick
The Irishman – Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser & Stephane Grabli
The Lion King – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones & Elliot Newman
1917 – Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler & Dominic Tuohy – Winner
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach & Dominic Tuohy

Production design
The Irishman – Bob Shaw & Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent & Nora Sopková
1917 – Dennis Gassner & Lee Sandales
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Barbara Ling & Nancy Haigh – Winner
Parasite – Lee Ha Jun & Cho Won Woo

Costume design
The Irishman – Sandy Powell & Christopher Peterson
Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo
Joker – Mark Bridges
Little Women – Jacqueline Durran – Winner
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Arianne Phillips

Makeup and hairstyling
Bombshell – Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan & Vivian Baker – Winner
Joker – Nicki Ledermann & Kay Georgiou
Judy – Jeremy Woodhead
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil – Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten & David White
1917 – Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis & Rebecca Cole

Film editing
Ford V Ferrari – Michael McCusker & Andrew Buckland – Winner
The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit -Tom Eagles
Joker – Jeff Groth
Parasite – Yang Jinmo

Original score
Joker – Hildur Guðnadóttir – Winner
Little Women – Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story – Randy Newman
1917 – Thomas Newman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – John Williams

Original song
“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” (Toy Story 4) – Randy Newman
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” (Rocketman) –  Elton John & Bernie Taupin – Winner
“I’m Standing With You” (Breakthrough) – Diane Warren
“Into The Unknown” (La Reine des neiges 2) – Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez
“Stand Up” (Harriet) – Joshuah Brian Campbell & Cynthia Erivo

Sound editing
Joker – Alan Robert Murray
1917 – Wylie Stateman
Ford V Ferrari – Donald Sylvester – Winner
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Wylie Stateman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Matthew Wood & David Acord

Sound mixing
Ad Astra – Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson & Mark Ulano
Ford V Ferrari – Paul Massey, David Giammarco & Steven A. Morrow
Joker – Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic & Tod Maitland
1917 – Mark Taylor & Stuart Wilson – Winner
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler & Mark Ulano

Recent Movies Articles
Three new guests announced at the Dream It At Home 16 convention
Harry Potter: Tom Felton will attend the German Comic Con 2021 in Dortmund
Ben Barnes, Freddy Carter, Jonathan Majors among the new guests of MCM London Comic Con 2021
Disney postpones the release of Indiana Jones 5 and many Marvel movies
Fear Street: Emily Rudd, last guest of the S3 Weekend virtual event
Popular Movies Articles