Oscars: discover all the nominees for the 2020 edition

Oscars: discover all the nominees for the 2020 edition

Photo: Warner Bros / Niko Tavernise

This Monday, January 13, the nominations for the 92nd Academy Awards were announced by John Cho and Issa Rae. This year’s nominations are dominated by Todd PhillipsJoker. Featured 11 times, it is ahead of three other films by a short head: The Irishman by Martin Scorsese, 1917 by Sam Mendes and Once upon a time… in Hollywood by Quentin Tarantino.

Behind these quartet, there are four films with six nominations each: Jojo Rabbit by Taika Waititi, Little Women by Greta Gerwig, Marriage Story by Noah Baumbach and Parasite by Bong Joon Ho. The latter is a favorite in the Best International Feature Film category and could well be a double winner as it is nominated as Best Picture alongside the above-mentioned films.

Already a strong contender at the Golden Globes, Netflix is once again proving to be a major player at the Oscars thanks to The Irishman, Marriage Story, The Two Popes, the animated movie Klaus and the documentary American Story. In total, the streaming giant received 21 nominations for the 92nd Academy Awards.

The winners in each category will be announced at the ceremony taking place on February 9 in Los Angeles. In the meantime, you can check out all the nominations here below.

Best motion picture
Ford V Ferrari
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Marriage story
Once upon a time… in Hollywood

Best director
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Todd Phillips – Joker
Sam Mendes – 1917
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywod
Bong Joon Ho – Parasite

International feature film
Corpus christi – Jan Komasa
Honeyland – Ljubo Stefanov &Tamara Kotevksa
Les Misérables – Ladj Ly
Pain and Glory – Pedro Almodóvar
Parasite – Bong Joon Ho

Original screenplay
Knives Out – Rian Johnson
Marriage story – Noah Baumbach
1917 – Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino
Parasite – Bong Joon Ho & Han Jin Won

Adapted screenplay
The Irishman – Steven Zaillian
Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi
Joker – Todd Phillips & Scott Silver
Little Women – Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes – Anthony McCarten

Best actress
Cynthia Erivo – Harriet
Scarlett Johansson  – Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
Charlize Theron – Bombshell
Renée Zellweger – Judy

Best actor
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once upon a time… in Hollywood
Adam Driver – Marriage story
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes

Best supporting actress
Kathy Bates – Richard Jewell
Laura Dern – Marriage story
Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh – Little Women
Margot Robbie  – Bombshell

Best supporting actor
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes
Al Pacino – The Irishman
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once upon a time in Hollywood

Animated feature film
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World – Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis & Bonnie Arnold
I Lost My Body – Jérémy Clapin & Marc du Pontavice
Klaus – Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh & Marisa Román
Missing Link – Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner & Travis Knight
Toy Story 4 – Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen & Jonas Rivera

Live action short film
Brotherhood – Meryam Joobeur & Maria Gracia Turgeon
Nefta Football Club – Yves Piat & Damien Megherbi
The Neighbors’ Window – Marshall Curry
Saria – Bryan Buckley et Matt Lefebvre
A Sister – Delphine Girard

Animated short film
Dcera (Daughter) – Daria Kashcheeva
Hair Love – Matthew A. Cherry & Karen Rupert Toliver
Kitbull – Rosana Sullivan & Kathryn Hendrickson
Mémorable – Bruno Collet & Jean-François Le Corre
Sister – Siqi Song

Documentary feature
American Factory – Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert & Jeff Reichert
The Cave – Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod & Sigrid Dyekjær
The Edge of Democracy – Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris & Tiago Pavan
For Sama – Waad al-Kateab & Edward Watts
Honeyland – Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska & Atanas Georgiev

Documentary short subject
In the absence – Yi Seung-Jun & Gary Byung-Seok Kam
Learning to skateboard in a warzone (If you’re a girl) – Carol Dysinger & Elena Andreicheva
Life overtakes me – John Haptas & Kristine Samuelson
St. Louis Superman – Smriti Mundhra & Sami Khan
Wlak run Cha-Cha – Laura Nix & Colette Sandstedt

The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
Joker – Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke
1917 – Roger Deakins
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Robert Richardson

Visual effects
Avengers : Endgame – Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken & Dan Sudick
The Irishman – Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser & Stephane Grabli
The Lion King – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones & Elliot Newman
1917 – Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler & Dominic Tuohy
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach & Dominic Tuohy

Production design
The Irishman – Bob Shaw & Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent & Nora Sopková
1917 – Dennis Gassner & Lee Sandales
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Barbara Ling & Nancy Haigh
Parasite – Lee Ha Jun & Cho Won Woo

Costume design
The Irishman – Sandy Powell & Christopher Peterson
Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo
Joker – Mark Bridges
Little Women – Jacqueline Durran
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Arianne Phillips

Makeup and hairstyling
Bombshell – Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan & Vivian Baker
Joker – Nicki Ledermann & Kay Georgiou
Judy – Jeremy Woodhead
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil – Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten & David White
1917 – Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis & Rebecca Cole

Film editing
Ford V Ferrari – Michael McCusker & Andrew Buckland
The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit -Tom Eagles
Joker – Jeff Groth
Parasite – Yang Jinmo

Original score
Joker – Hildur Guðnadóttir
Little Women – Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story – Randy Newman
1917 – Thomas Newman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – John Williams

Original song
“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” (Toy Story 4) – Randy Newman
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” (Rocketman) –  Elton John & Bernie Taupin
“I’m Standing With You” (Breakthrough) – Diane Warren
“Into The Unknown” (La Reine des neiges 2) – Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez
“Stand Up” (Harriet) – Joshuah Brian Campbell & Cynthia Erivo

Sound editing
Joker – Alan Robert Murray
1917 – Wylie Stateman
Ford V Ferrari – Donald Sylvester
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Wylie Stateman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Matthew Wood & David Acord

Sound mixing
Ad Astra – Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson & Mark Ulano
Ford V Ferrari – Paul Massey, David Giammarco & Steven A. Morrow
Joker – Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic & Tod Maitland
1917 – Mark Taylor & Stuart Wilson
Once upon a time… in Hollywood – Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler & Mark Ulano

Recent Movies Articles
Kiana Madeira (Fear Street, Trinkets) announced at the convention ‘Our Stripes Are Beautiful 2’
First pictures of Timothée Chalamet in his new role as Willy Wonka
Harry Potter: Tom Felton announced at TGS Toulouse 2021
Fear Street: Kiana Madeira and Olivia Scott Welch reunited for a virtual event
Olivia Scott Welch (Panic, Fear Street), first guest of the Our Stripes Are Beautiful 2 convention
Popular Movies Articles