Emmy Awards 2020: Watchmen, Schitt’s Creek and Succession dominate, Zendaya makes history

Photo: pop TV

The Emmy Awards 2020 was historic in many ways. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the ceremony was held for the first time entirely remotely with Jimmy Kimmel at the helm. This 72nd edition also saw Catherine O’Hara win her first individual Emmy for her performance in Schitt’s Creek. The comedy, which bowed out this year, took home all the awards in the comedy category.

The evening was also marked by the domination of Watchmen (11 awards) and Succession (7) as well as the victory of Zendaya for the award for best actress in a drama. Noticed and remarkable in Euphoria, she became the youngest actress to win this award.

Note that Maya Rudolph, who was nominated in two categories, is also a big hit and leaves with the best dubbing statuettes (Big Mouth) and best guest in a comedy (Saturday Night Live).

On the broadcaster side, it is HBO, as is often the case, which is doing very well with 30 awards in front of Netflix (21) and Pop TV (10). Disney+, which leaves with 8 technical awards, can thank The Mandalorian, which has won 7 awards alone.

Which other series, actors and actresses have won prizes? Answer below.

Outstanding Drama Series
Better Call Saul
The Crown
The Handmaid’s Tale
Killing Eve
The Mandalorian
Stranger Things
Succession – Winner

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series
Olivia Colman (The Crown)
Zendaya (Euphoria) – Winner
Jodie Comer (Killing Eve)
Sandra Oh (Killing Eve)
Jennifer Aniston (The Morning Show)
Laura Linney (Ozark)

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series
Steve Carrell (The Morning Show)
Jason Bateman (Ozark)
Billy Porter (Pose)
Brian Cox (Succession)
Jeremy Strong (Succession) – Winner
Sterling K. Brown (This is Us)

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series
Giancarlo Esposito (Better Call Saul)
Bradey Whitford (The Handmaid’s Tale)
Billy Crudup (The Morning Show) – Winner
Mark Duplass (The Morning Show)
Nicholas Braun (Succession)
Kieran Culkin (Succession)
Matthew Macfadyen (Succession)
Jeffrey Wright (Watchmen)

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series
Laura Dern (Big Little Lies)
Meryl Streep (Big Little Lies)
Helena Bonham Carter (The Crown)
Samira Wiley (The Handmaid’s Tale)
Fiona Shaw (Killing Eve)
Julia Garner (Ozark) – Winner
Sarah Snook (Succession)
Thandie Newton (Westworld)

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Drama Series
Andrew Scott (Black Mirror)
Giancarlo Esposito (The Mandalorian)
Martin Short (The Morning Show)
Jason Bateman (The Outsider)
James Cromwell (Succession)
Ron Cephas Jones (This Is US) – Winner

Outstanding Guest Actress In A Drama Series
Alexis Bledel (The Handmaid’s Tale)
Cicely Tyson (How To Get Away With Murder)
Laverne Cox (Orange Is The New Black)
Harriet Walter (Succession)
Cherry Jones (Succession) – Winner
Phylicia Rashad (This Is Us)

Outstanding Comedy Series
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Dead to Me
The Good Place
The Kominsky Method
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Schitt’s Creek – Winner
What We Do In The Shadows

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series
Tracee Ellis Ross (black-ish)
Christina Applegate (Dead To Me)
Linda Cardellini (Dead To Me)
Issa Rae (Insecure)
Rachel Brosnahan (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
Catherine O’Hara (Schitt’s Creek) – Winner

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series
Don Cheadle (Black Monday)
Anthony Anderson (black-ish)
Ted Danson (The Good Place)
Michael Douglas (The Kominsky Method)
Ramy Youssef (Ramy)
Eugene Levy (Schitt’s Creek) – Winner

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series
Andre Braugher (Brooklyn Nine-Nine)
William Jackson Harper (The Good Place)
Alan Arkin (The Kominsky Method)
Sterling K. Brown (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
Tony Shalhoub (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
Mahershala Ali (Ramy)
Kenan Thompson (Saturday Night Live)
Daniel Levy (Schitt’s Creek) – Winner

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series
Betty Gilpin (GLOW)
D’Arcy Carden (The Good Place)
Yvonne Orji (Insecure)
Alex Borstein (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
Marin Hinkle (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
Kate McKinnon (Saturday Night Live)
Cecily Strong (Saturday Night Live)
Annie Murphy (Schitt’s Creek) – Winner

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Comedy Series
Luke Kirby (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
Fred Willard (Modern Family)
Dev Patel (Modern Love)
Adam Driver (Saturday Night Live)
Eddie Murphy (Saturday Night Live) – Winner
Brad Pitt (Saturday Night Live)

Outstanding Guest Actress In A Comedy Series
Angela Bassett (A Black Lady Sketch Show)
Maya Rudolph (The Good Place)
Wanda Sykes (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
Bette Midler (The Politician)
Maya Rudolph (Saturday Night Live) – Winner
Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Saturday Night Live)

Outstanding Limited Series
Little Fires Everywhere
Mrs. America
Watchmen – Winner

Outstanding Television Movie
American Son
Bad Education – Winner
Dolly Parton’s Heartstrings: These Old Bones
El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie
Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. The Reverend

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Limited Series Or Movie
Hugh Jackman (Bad Education)
Jeremy Pope (Hollywood)
Mark Ruffalo (I Know This Much Is True) – Winner
Paul Mescal (Normal People)
Jeremy Irons (Watchmen)

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Limited Series Or Movie
Kerry Washington (Little Fires Everywhere)
Cate Blanchett (Mrs. America)
Octavia Spencer (Self Made: Inspired By The Life Of Madam C.J. Walker)
Shira Haas (Unorthodox)
Regina King (Watchmen) – Winner

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Limited Series Or Movie
Dylan McDermot (Hollywood)
Jim Parsons (Hollywood)
Tituss Burgess (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. The Reverend)
Yahya Abdul-Mateen II (Watchmen) – Winner
Jovan Adepo (Watchmen)
Louis Gossett Jr. (Watchmen)

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Limited Series Or Movie
Holland Taylor (Hollywood)
Uzo Aduba (Mrs. America) – Winner
Margo Martindale (Mrs. America)
Tracey Ullman (Mrs. America)
Toni Collette (Unbelievable)
Jean Smart (Watchmen)

Outstanding Animated Program
Big Mouth
Bob’s Burgers
BoJack Horseman
Rick & Morty – Winner
Les Simpson

Outstanding Short Form Animated Program
Forky Asks A Question: What Is Love? – Winner
Robot Chicken : Santa’s Dead (Spoiler Alert) Holiday Murder Thing Special
Steven Universe Future: Fragments

Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance
Maya Rudolph (Big Mouth) – Winner
Leslie Odom Jr. (Central Park)
Wanda Sykes (Crank Yankers)
Taika Waititi (The Mandalorian)
Nancy Cartwright (Les Simpson)
Hank Azaria (Les Simpson)

Outstanding Variety Talk Series
The Daily Show with Trevor Noah
Full Frontal with Samantha Bee
Jimmy Kimmel Live!
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver – Winner
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

Outstanding Variety Sketch Series
A Black Lady Sketch Show
Drunk History
Saturday Night Live – Winner

Outstanding Competition Program
The Masked Singer
Nailed It!
Rupaul’s Drag Race – Winner
Top Chef
The Voice

This article is about...
Recent TV Show Articles
Lie, Lie, Lie: the music video of the new Joshua Bassett song is now available
Bridgerton: Wevents Production announces a convention on the series
Shadow and Bone: Empire Conventions is organizing a Grishaverse Convention in 2022
Shadow and Bone on Netflix in April
Omar Sy becomes Arsène Lupin
Popular TV Show Articles
Leave a comment